Seven candidates announced for judgeship


There are seven candidates vying for the position of county court judge to replace current judge James E. Denvir, who is set to retire in January.

Six of the seven candidates from Pagosa Springs are Samuel H. Cassidy, Gayle O. Dixon, Reid B. Kelly, Rae L. Randolph, Deborah R. Schulte and Kathleen M. Sullivan. The seventh, from Durango, is Paul W. Whistler.

The Sixth Judicial District Nominating Commission will meet in Durango on Aug. 12 to consider candidates for the vacancy on the Archuleta County court.

The rules of procedure for the Sixth Judicial District Nominating Commission require that the names of all applicants be made public when the application period is closed.

With that application period closed and the names announced, public comment on the qualifications of the applicants is now invited, with that deadline being today, Aug. 7.

Comments may be directed to any member of the nominating commission, with a copy to the ex officio chair, Justice Brian D. Boatright, 2 E. 14th Ave., Denver, CO 80203, or they may be sent to no later than noon today, Aug. 7.

Those serving on the nominating commission are:

J.R. Ford, Pagosa Springs.

Lisa Scott, Pagosa Springs.

Thomas Shipps, Durango.

John Baxter, Durango.

Bobby Duthie, Durango.

Stephen Fearn, Silverton.

Kim Martin, Hesperus.