Unofficial election results announced


The unofficial election results have been announced for today’s general election.

Claiming victories in today’s election were Alvin Schaaf, Elsa P. White and Richard Valdez.

Additionally, voters voted down the ballot issue concerning sales tax to fund a new county jail and sheriff’s office and approved a mill levy override request from Archuleta School District.

Following are the vote totals for the contested Archuleta County races and the ballot issues. Additional election information will be available in Thursday’s edition of The SUN.

Archuleta County commissioner, District 3

Alvin Schaaf (Republican): 4,750 votes.

Write-in Elizabeth Dickerson: 138 votes.

Archuleta County treasurer

Elsa P. White (Republican): 3,952 votes.

Debbie Condrey (Democrat): 2,586 votes.

Archuleta County sheriff

Richard Valdez (Republican): 4,608 votes.

Rob Keating (unaffiliated): 1,093 votes.

Cole W. Graham (unaffiliated): 575 votes.

Ballot Issue 1A: County sales tax increase for justice system facilities

Yes/for: 3,128 votes.

No/against: 3,547 votes.

Ballot issue 5A: Archuleta School District mill levy override

Yes/for: 3,948 votes.

No/against: 2,499 votes.